Tuesday, May 11, 2010

Friends.... Phase II.

Alright, so lets get a little update going here.

Exciting isn't it? I've been blogging enough to continue a previous post!

Anyways, this time its not so much about the basic aspects of relationships as it is the more complex ones, which I believe a lot of people struggle with.

So the real thing I'm wondering about is why people don't invite me to stuff. Specifically, a particular group of friends.

Like, it could be the fact that I have next to no friends aside from this group, and that I rarely organize stuff. But I've tried several times. It just rarely works out.

But I'm never the guy who gets called on friday night asking if I want to hang out. This doesn't overly frustrate me, but one recent event kind of has.

So Mt. Hood, Oregon, is a summer skiing mecca. I met one of the guys (Brent) from this particular group of friends last summer while on a trip to Mt. Hood. I've been talking to a bunch of guys including the aforementioned one about a return trip for a while now, and I recently found out that a couple of them are heading back.

However, I was not invited, or even informed of it. It almost seems like they didn't want me to come. Why? I'm not sure. But, I'm kind of bummed about the whole situation. I was texting Brent earlier about something else and I asked him about it, and he hasn't texted me back. Kind of annoyed that he wouldn't tell me if he was going.

What really frustrates me is that I'm not sure what I did to deserve this. Like, did I piss them off somehow? Do they not actually like me? I've been myself and tried to be tactful, respectful, and polite in my relationships with them.

Well, Brent just texted me, and told me that he is indeed going. Maybe I'm just being paranoid. But it seemed weird that they would plan this and not tell me. I would really have liked to go. I almost certainly can't afford it, but really. An invitation would have been nice.

Anyways, I'm not going to get too choked about it. These things happen, and who knows why? Perhaps they forgot to give me an invite. Perhaps there are only 4 seats, and they're already taken. But this is life, and thats all that can be said about it.

I'll make sure to voice my concern in an appropriate way at some point though. Then perhaps things will change. Still though. Not pleased.

Now prepare yourselves for....

Phase III. The future.

1 comment:

  1. The fact that I was just watching Back to the Future II... and then I come to find Friends Phase II... ok so they don't relate at all, but you know... my mind just works that way.

    I find I have an over tendency to over anylise how exactly I am doing with my friends. If I don't hear from Will or Matt for a while I start to wonder if they are mad at me? Did I fuck up again?

    I've experienced the "oh we just didn't think to call you" for big things, and its like WTF?

    Is there a chance (not to give you a complex) that they may be uncomfortable at the thought of sharing a room with you for a few days do to things that have recently come to light?

    I mean when my closest friends found out that I was into guys, it took a couple of them a year or so to adapt to the idea that sleeping in the same room with me wasn't going to end badly for them, and that was when we were all the age you are now. That might be some of the not getting invited on the trip, or it might not be at all.

    I donno man, it sucks for sure. Another aspect to looking at it is what I call the engineers mindset. I have a lot of friends who are engineers and they just think differently, I'm close, but for some reason different. The engineer mindset is that they can forget about someone or not work someone into a plan with no malice or discontent, it just for some reason doesnt fit their design for that. They aren't the best social beasts as you would say (or maybe only I say that).

    Just try not to let it get you down, don't take direct offense until someone directly insults you. You can go mad thinking about these things, only to discover that they had some perfectly logical reason and just didnt think to tell you - which is more or less what you said.

    OK.... 5 minutes battery left so I'll shut up!

    ReplyDelete